Author Topic: Ending a trilogy  (Read 2715 times)

Offline Megan

• YA & Spec Fic Writer
  • Poster Plus
  • Dreaming away...
    • megancrewe.com
Ending a trilogy
« on: December 11, 2011, 08:53 AM »
I've just started really getting down to work on the last book in my trilogy (I know all the important things that happen but need to outline thoroughly and work out some character stuff and of course write the thing), and I'm feeling pretty nervous about it.  Because I've never written a trilogy before, and I think the end is the most important part, and because my sense of the story has been thrown a bit because it was originally just supposed to be two books, but the sequel turned out to be so much story I had to split it in two.

I'm sure I'll get it sorted out, but I thought it'd be useful to hear what people who've been there have to say.  If you've written a trilogy, or a series with a clear end, is there anything you can share that helped you approach the final book?  Tips, ways of looking at things, questions to ponder, whatever?

All thoughts are very much appreciated!
GIVE UP THE GHOST, Holt, 2009
Fallen World trilogy, Hyperion, 2012-14
Earth & Sky trilogy, Skyscape/Penguin Canada, 2014-15
http://www.megancrewe.com

Offline Jenny Moss

• Admins and Mods Emeriti
  • Poster Plus
    • Jenny Moss
Re: Ending a trilogy
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2011, 01:11 PM »
(I have no advice, but I just want you to finish it, so I can read it. THE WAY WE FALL - so excellent.)
TAKING OFF, Bloomsbury/Walker
SHADOW, Scholastic Press
WINNIE'S WAR, Bloomsbury/Walker

http://jenny-moss.livejournal.com/

Offline Hélène Boudreau

• Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region canadaeast
  • SCBWI PAL
  • *yawn*
    • Hélène Boudreau
« Reply #2 on: December 11, 2011, 01:42 PM »
I have no advice but I am in the same situation so :popcorn I shall await and try to absorb the wise words of those in the 'know'.
www.heleneboudreau.com