SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Writing a historical novel

Discussion started on

Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region caribbeannorth
Hi,

I started writing a historical novel about a family that immigrated to New York in the 70s. I've done some research on that period and it also draws from personal experience since my family moved to New York during that time. Initially I thought about writing a MG, but I need to decide if it might be better as a YA since the protagonist wants to discover his surroundings riding on the train, among other things, with a new friend.  Also he reflects about his new life and has a conflict with his father. The story is set in the Bronx.  It's my first try at historical fiction.
(I wrote a fantasy novel and a contemporary novel, but I haven't publish them).   :faint

Does it sound more like MG or YA?    Could you suggest any books on writing historical fiction?  Any comments on the topic are most appreciated.  :thankyou

#1 - October 07, 2014, 08:57 AM

Member.
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region newjersey
Congratulations on your plan of writing a historical fiction.  To me it sounds like it would be better as YA, basically due to the traveling aspect. I am in the midst of writing (for years I have revised this book) a historically-based novel, with setting in 1930s NYC.  I am going through a process where a publisher is tentatively interested. Good luck to you! Two that I liked a lot were: Freedom Passage, by Carol Behrman, and The Worst of Times, by James Lincolon Collier. Check with your local librarian and I am sure you will find more.   

Leslie
#2 - October 07, 2014, 02:09 PM

Admins and Mods Emeriti
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region midatlantic