Society of
Children's Book Writers
and Illustrators

2015 Golden Kite Winners

The SCBWI is pleased to reveal the winners of the prestigious Golden Kite and Sid Fleischman Awards, given annually to children’s books published in the preceding year. The Golden Kite Awards, given annually to recognize excellence in children’s literature in the previous calendar year by an SCBWI member in four categories: Fiction, Nonfiction, Picture Book Text, and Picture Book Illustration.

Named for the late Newbery-winner Sid Fleischman, the SCBWI offers this eponymous award to authors whose work exemplifies excellence in the genre of humor, a category so often overlooked by other award committees in children’s literature.

The Golden Kite Awards and the Sid Fleischman Award for Humor will be presented to the winners at the Golen Kite Luncheon during SCBWI’s 44th Annual Conference on Writing and Illustrating for Children, taking place in Los Angeles, California, from July 31 – August 3, 2015.  An Honor Book plaque is also awarded in each category.


Picture Book Text Winner: 
Kristy Dempsey
illustrated by Floyd Cooper
(Philomel Books)
Picture Book Text Honor:
Sophie Blackall
(Nancy Paulson Books)  







Picture Book Illustration Winner:
Melissa Sweet
written by Jen Bryant
Picture Book Illustration Honor:
Marla Frazee
(Beach Lane Books)
Fiction Winner:
Deborah Wiles

Fiction Honor:

Abby Hanlon
(Dial BFYR)
Nonfiction Winner:
Candace Fleming
(Schwartz & Wade)
Nonfiction Honor:
Susan Rubin
(Holiday House)


Sid Fleischman Humor Award:

Michelle Knudsen
(Candlewick Press)

More information about the Golden Kite Awards