Society of
Children's Book Writers
and Illustrators

Announcing the BIPOC Scholarship Winners

SCBWI is proud to announce the winners of the BIPOC Scholarship for the Big Five-Oh Summer Conference. This scholarship, which was originally created by Matt de la Pena, grants an all-expense-paid conference admission to Black, indigenous, and creators of color. At least half of the scholarships are exclusively made available to women.
Each winner will receive free tuition to the conference, as well as attendance to the extra Launchpad Intensive and Roundtable Pitch Session.  
Here, in alphabetical order, is the list of the twenty-five winners:

Omar Abed

Jin Hee Ahn

Annemarie Anang

Pearl Au-Yeung

Mariana Avila

Meena Banatwala-Poe

Jax Chow

Songju Daemicke

Karen deBlieck

Avani Dwivedi

Natasha Fisher

Kimberly Lee

Jacinta Liu

Angela Merlo

Apryl Newkirk

Acamy Schleikorn

Maya Shakur

Angela Shenk

Nancy So-Miller

Nadine Takvorian

Swati Tarafdar

Lala Watkins

Kaitlyn Wells

Adriana White

Monique Wray


Congratulations to our winners! Click here to learn more about The Big Five-Oh!