SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Golden Fleece Press

Discussion started on

Poster
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region wisconsin
Hi, all!

I'm new here, so hopefully I'm posting this question in the right spot  :-) I've been a member of SCBWI for a few months now, but I've mostly been taking advantage of the lectures and workshops and haven't used the forums very much yet.

Long story short, I have a picture book manuscript that I've been polishing since 2018, and over the past year and a half I've started sending it out to publishers -- lots of them.  So far it's been all rejections, but yesterday I received an email from Golden Fleece Press (http://www.goldenfleecepress.com/)  saying that they would like to accept it for publication. I was pretty surprised since I sent it to them over a year ago and their timeline for replying is 6 months. Until yesterday, I'd assumed it was just another silent rejection.

The thing I'm a bit worried about is that they don't have much of an online presence, and a lot of what is up there about them is a bit outdated. Also, their catalog is very very small, and it's really hard to tell much about them from their website. They do have a presence on Barnes & Noble's website, which seems promising, but I wasn't able to find any of their books in our local library system (I work at the library) and none of the librarians I work with had ever heard of them. I find that a bit concerning.  On the one hand, I'd love to work with a small, indie publisher who is trying to do great things,  but I'm also leery of selling my work to someone that seems so unknown.

Does anyone have any thoughts? Has anyone heard of or worked with Golden Fleece Press before?

Thanks so much in advance for you insights :-)!
#1 - May 22, 2021, 09:47 AM
« Last Edit: May 22, 2021, 09:56 AM by rachel-berkowitz »

Global Moderator
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region midatlantic