SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Own Voices, Own Stories Award

Discussion started on

New Poster
  • *
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region midatlantic
The Cherry Lake Publishing Group, through their imprint, Sleeping Bear Press, announced the Own Voices, Own Stories Award last year.  The Contest runs January 1, 2021 through March 30, 2021. 

The Own Voices, Own Stories Award contest is open to BIPOC and/or LGBTQ+ writers. Applicants must be United States residents and at least 18 years of age. Only unagented projects and authors who have not had a previously traditionally published children’s book will be considered. Manuscripts that have been previously submitted to Sleeping Bear Press and/or the Own Voices, Own Stories Award will not be considered. Authors who have self-published books will be considered, but the submitted story must be original (i.e. not the self-published title).

For more information go to:

Here is a link to a YouTube video with an Interview between Mr. Alex and Sarah Rockett, Editor at Sleeping Bear Press about the Contest:
#1 - January 15, 2021, 01:32 PM
« Last Edit: January 25, 2021, 10:07 AM by alexander-fernandez »


0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.