SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Lots of revisions - help!

Discussion started on

New Poster
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region carolinas
  • SCBWI PAL
I'm new at being commissioned for illustrations. My first experience went really well, but I currently have a client who is much harder to please. They already have the image in mind of what they want each illustration to look like which has resulted in 3 or 4 revisions of a piece (so far -- there might be more); sometimes I can't salvage anything from the sketch and have to start fresh. We didn't include anything about the number of revisions in the contract. :(  We're already past the deadline, but the client doesn't mind, but I have other projects coming up.  Anything I can do/say to speed this process along? I haven't been paid for anything yet.

Thanks!

Samantha
#1 - September 04, 2013, 03:59 AM

I’m not an illustrator so I don’t have specific advice, but I do have the general sort. Without an agreement regarding the number of revisions, you’re not in the strongest position. However, that doesn’t mean you can’t both listen to the client and push back when you think it’s appropriate. The client is more likely to have confidence in you if you show confidence in your own judgment and abilities.
#2 - September 04, 2013, 04:52 AM

I draw stuff for chocolates.
Poster Plus
I never work without a retainer. And I limit the number of revisions included in the contract with additional changes being charge additional fees. You have a live and learn situation here, since you don't have the number of revisions or a pre-payment agreement built into your contract.