SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Is PB Market moving to author/illustrators only?

Discussion started on

New Poster
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region austin
I've been researching agents to query for the last several months and it seems that SO many agents that represent PBs are only looking for author-illustrators and won't accept submissions from authors-only.  As a non-illustrating writer myself, should I be expecting fewer and fewer agents/publishers to accept my submissions in coming years? I'm curious about why so many are moving in this direction and what it means going forward for author-only opportunities. I would love any insight anyone has.

(Searched and couldn't find this topic so forgive me if it's been discussed.)

-Lauren Jane Redmond
#1 - January 25, 2022, 11:14 AM

I'll just speak as an editor, since that's what I am. I'm definitely NOT just signing up author-illustrator projects and I see no reason to move in that direction. I want the best writing AND the best illustrating and I can't always get that from the same person.

FWIW, I can understand agents having a preference for author-illustrators on PB projects, since there's no splitting of the advance and royalty. I don't know if that explains this shift, or if this shift is actually happening.
#2 - January 25, 2022, 05:25 PM
Harold Underdown

The Purple Crayon, a children's book editor's site: http://www.underdown.org/
Twitter: http://twitter.com/HUnderdown

Global Moderator
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region longislandny
I do think Harold has explained the shift many agents have made. I haven't seen it from editors.
#3 - January 25, 2022, 09:35 PM
Twitter: @dvilardi1

Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • Global Moderator
  • SCBWI Region canadaeast