SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Cricket and photos for NF

Discussion started on

kate_b

Hi everyone!

My mom (a biologist) and I have just written a nonfiction article that we plan to submit to Cricket.

Both my mom and the expert we interviewed are amateur photographers who have some great pictures that could illustrate the article.  We didn't even have to ask the expert about it -- he volunteered the information that he had some great photos.  I have two questions about this:

1. This is my first time submitting photos.  I was planning on submitting the article in standard manuscript format (including the bibliography that Cricket guidelines require), with the photos inserted as images onto the last page (or last couple pages, more likely), together with an explanation of what each picture shows and who holds the rights for the picture.  Does that sound okay?  I've heard that some people send in prints.  Would a color printout work too?

2.  Would Cricket pay the expert for his photos?  I read in another mag's guidelines that they basically expect photos from experts to come for free.  I think our expert would be willing to do that, but I also think it would be cool if he got paid.  Does anyone know Cricket's policy on that?

Thanks in advance for any responses!

Best,

Kate.
#1 - February 26, 2008, 12:12 PM

Global Moderator
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region carolinas
Kate, you can submit a copy of the photos along with the article.  Make sure you write your name and address on the back of it, so that they can return it if they don't want the pictures or after publication.

I've gotten paid for photos.  In fact, the pay is much nicer for pictures than my words :)  However, don't be disappointed if the editor decides to use a different photo from a public source (free) or if they use your photos to make an illstration (and in that case the illustrator gets paid, not the photographer).

Good luck.
Vijaya