SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Another Dummy Question (Book Dummy...that is.)

Discussion started on

Rock of The Westies
Roving Moderator
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region nevada
I am a writer/illustrator. Sometimes I work on my writing, because my illustration style does not always complement that of my writing...and at times...I work on my illustrations. Recently, I have attended a couple of conferences and it was mentioned that writer/illustrators are something that publishers and agents are seeking. I have heard the opposite in the past...both the writing and illustrations have to be excellent. I've just completed a PB manuscript that suits my illustration style and am starting to compile a book dummy.

I have seen many book dummies that were almost "done." So much work for a possible "no," or gee you really need to consider changing all of your illustrations." I know that is always the risk, but I was wondering if pencil renderings and a few finished illustrations are a good alternative? Even the pencil renderings are taking time because I want to be sure that the characters are consistent, leave space for text and that the pacing is right.

I am reducing the images to 8 1/2 by 11" and using photoshop to place text in the samples. Is this sufficient? Should I lightly color the dummy and give 3 to 4 finsihed illustrations? If any of you have heard of preferences from the publishers, I would like to hear what they are.

Thank you so much.
#1 - May 19, 2008, 05:26 PM
Fur Balls & Feathers & Fins, Oh My! Animals Are My Kind of People
 www.cynthiakremsner.com

Z-cat

Dummies are such a challenge because it's so very, very vague just what a dummy should be, especially after you've done a little research on sub'ing manuscripts, and all of those particulars.