SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

How to represent myself to expert sources?

Discussion started on

Hi everyone. I've read really good posts here about interviewing experts. But I have a question about how to represent myself to them. I've written articles in the past in which the person I've wanted to interview asked what publication I was writing for. That's not a probelm if I have an assignment. But if I'm writing on spec, I'm not sure how to answer the question. Should I say I'm a freelance writer hoping to be published in _______ magazine? I don't want to give the impression that I'm wasting their time. Any suggestions? Thanks!
Shelly  :thanks2
#1 - July 20, 2008, 11:50 PM
« Last Edit: July 21, 2008, 01:29 PM by 707 »

Admins and Mods Emeriti
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region midatlantic
Hi Shelly,

What I've done is to say something like: "I'm writing an article on the topic of XYZ , and would love to include your expertise in the article. I'll be pitching the piece to local parenting magazines (or whatever the category is) and wondered if you'd be available for a phone interview."

I've never had anyone turn me down for an interview, even for articles on spec. That said, now that you have some clips in your file, I'd try to avoid writing on spec if you can. When you query, you can either contact the expert first and ask if s/he would be amenable to doing an interview for an article that you're pitching. If so, you can add that in your query: "XYZ expert has agreed to an interview." Now that I've established a working relationship with certain editors, I just say things like: "I'd love to interview XYZ for this piece" and then contact Mr. or Ms. XYZ once I've got the assignment.

:goodluck

Natalie
#2 - July 21, 2008, 04:22 AM
FLYING THE DRAGON (Charlesbridge, 2012)
A LONG PITCH HOME (Charlesbridge, 2016)

www.nataliediaslorenzi.com
http://bibliolinks.wordpress.com/