SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Three weeks until ScriptFrenzy 2009! Who's in?

Discussion started on

Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region austin
I'll be adapting my last NaNoWriMo novel, as usual. I'm actually the ML for Austin this year--I can't wait! I've gotten very involved in the local screenwritin' scene here in town the last couple of months.

Who else?

Adapting my novels for the screen has been the best exercise ever in improving my dialogue and streamlining my story. I highly recommend it!
#1 - March 06, 2009, 12:48 PM
Author of iPad apps, MG books, and women's fiction

This sounds very intriguing, but I've had no experience in writing scripts.  Haven't really even read any except Shakespeare.

Do you have any recommendations for learning more?  I have noticed in my own writing that I'm excellent at dialogue and wondered if it might be natural for me to write scripts, but I have no idea if that is really what makes a good script or if it's something else entirely.

You can PM me unless you think it might be useful to others as well.

Thanks!
#2 - March 06, 2009, 03:08 PM

Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region austin
My very best advice for writers who have been doing novels and want to try a screenplay is to find a book you love and are quite familiar with that has been made into a movie. Then dig around and find the screenplay for it. There are several sources for finding screenplays, two good ones are

www.dailyscript.com
www.simplyscripts.com

Here, for example, is the script for Twilight

http://www.raindance.co.uk/site/picture/upload/image/books/Twilight.pdf

Then read the two side by side, seeing how internal is handled, how the story moves visually and action-oriented, how an external goal is added if only an internal goal moves the book.

Then watch the movie itself and see how the script translated to film.