SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Submission tips to AD and editors for illustrators

Discussion started on

suana

:writing3

Hello everyone!

I am new here. I am an illustrator and designer  and lately I have been wondering what the best approach ito reach publishers, editors and art directors. In the past I always sent them a standard cover letter along with some samples of my work and a link to my website. Do we illustrators have to be more creative in our approach [as writers who give a brief about their new MS or project?]
I'd love to here from you.
You can find more about my work here: http://www.suanaverelst.com

Suana
#1 - March 26, 2010, 07:38 AM

Poster Plus
Hi, Suana, and welcome!  I'll let one of the many illustrators on the board answer your question but I wanted to thank you for posting a link to your website. Absolutely made my morning.  :smile

#2 - March 26, 2010, 09:03 AM

suana

:thanks

I can't seem to open a link to your profile... are you an illlustrator/writer ?
#3 - March 26, 2010, 09:47 AM

Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region westcentny
Suana,  there are certain things you can't do on the boards (like look at profiles) until you become a member -- I think that is achieved by making 50 or so posts and then one of the administrators having the time to make you a member.  I was confused about this at first, too, when I started on the BlueBoards! Welcome!
#4 - March 26, 2010, 10:06 AM
FIVE SHORT SECONDS
SAYA AT SPEED
RULES OF THE GAME
TEST CASES
TWISTER RESISTERS
CRASH COURSE
Heinemann, Fall 2013

Poster Plus
eecoburn is right...but to answer your question, I'm not an illustrator (although I love to paint and draw.) There are plenty of 'real' illustrators here, though...maybe one of them will pop by to offer some advice and say hello.

TH
#5 - March 27, 2010, 02:54 PM

Official Shenaniganizer
Emeritus
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region canadawest
Suana,