SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

complete novice seeks answers to writing and illustrating a picture book

Discussion started on

bringiton

Hello you talented bunch!!! Wow what can I say, I think I have struck gold with this site, it has all the answers you need for the budding illustrator such as myself.
I have read most of the posts here but haven't found one that answers my question, I'm sure its there but I was beginning to get eyeball ache searching though all the posts, although I have learnt loads on the way :). Anyway I have nearly finished putting together a picture book and am in the research phase for finding suitable publishers. I have my manuscript, my covering letter and copies of the illustrations. My question is, say I get extremely lucky and my illustrations are accepted, either with or without the story, will I be expected to do the final touch ups in photoshop or will they have a finishing team that does all of that? It seems that alot of you pros do all the finishing touches yourselves and even though I'm experienced in typesetting and finishing, I haven't got the facilities at this moment in time.

Thanks so much for your time oh wise ones
#1 - May 12, 2010, 12:54 PM

Rock of The Westies
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region nevada
Hello Bring-It-On,