SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

What age does kindergarten start where you live?

Discussion started on

Official Shenaniganizer
Emeritus
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region canadawest
So, I'm Canadian. In Canada kindergarten starts in September of the year you turn five. (except for in Ontario where they have two years of kindergarten and starts the year you turn 4) My birthday is in November, so I started Kindergarten when I was 4 turning 5, and graduated high school at 17. One of my writing friends is only 11 days older than me, lives in the States and just blew my mind  :ahh  by telling me that I graduated a year before her because kindergarten starts at 5 going on 6 where she lives.

I just started writing an MG and am wondering if my characters are in the wrong grade...  :eh2

So, what age do kids begin school where you live???
#1 - November 13, 2011, 10:31 AM
THIS LITTLE PIGGY (AN OWNER'S MANUAL), Aladdin PIX June 2017 :pigsnort
KUNG POW CHICKEN 1-4, Scholastic 2014 :chicken

http://cyndimarko.com
@cynmarko

NC Girl

I am in an NYC suburb. Our kids must turn 5 by Dec 1 to start kindergarten (so the fall babies are 4 1/2, anyone born between Dec-Sept is 5). However, a lot of fall babies are held back by their parents and start when they are 5 1/2.
In Bergen County, NJ, just to the south of us, the cutoff is Oct. 1. And in NYC, it's Dec. 31.

And I do think more and more "borderline" babies are being held. Especially the boys.

So lots of differences, even just in slightly different geographic locations.

Good luck!
#2 - November 13, 2011, 10:42 AM

Official Shenaniganizer
Emeritus
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
thanks NC Girl! the cut off here is Dec 31 as well. It's not a perfect system, I was always one of the youngest kids in my class, and there were people born in January who were pretty much a full year older.