SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Hi I'm new on here and could use some help....

Discussion started on

New Poster
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region sfnortheastbay
Hi all,

I am a ceramic artist who is trying to write a book about one of my characters, Melvin the Sad(ish) Robot. But as you all know, writing is hard. I have gone through a couple of drafts of my story and I think the overall story is solid, but my writing is rough. I'm looking for insight, feedback, critiques that will help get my writing up to speed with the images I have been producing for this project. Thanks in advance for anyone able to help.
#1 - February 18, 2016, 10:41 AM

Official Shenaniganizer
Emeritus
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region canadawest
Hi Joshua, welcome to the board!! :welcome

A good place to start is to read the wonderfully informative articles on our member Harold Underdown's site. http://underdown.org/basic-articles.htm

Also, if you haven't already, spend some time reading the threads on the Craft of Writing board, the PB board, and the Illustrating board. They contain a wealth of information.

When you are ready, there are boards on the main board and the SCBWI Only boards to request critiques of queries, manuscripts, and illustrations.

And of course if you have questions our members are incredibly helpful and supportive!

You've come to the best place on the internet to learn about the children's book industry!  :goodluck
#2 - February 18, 2016, 11:41 AM
THIS LITTLE PIGGY (AN OWNER'S MANUAL), Aladdin PIX June 2017 :pigsnort
KUNG POW CHICKEN 1-4, Scholastic 2014 :chicken

http://cyndimarko.com
@cynmarko

Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region caribbeannorth