SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Do you read fiction books when doing your research

Discussion started on

Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region sfsouth
Hi Everyone,

Sorry if this is a really "green" question.
I am new to the historical fiction space.
When you do your research do you just stick to non-fiction books, newspapers, etc or do you also read other fictional novels set in that time period?

Thanks,
Darshana
#1 - April 18, 2013, 11:40 PM
How to Wear a Sari (HMH Books/Versify, Fall 2020)
www.darshanakhiani.com - Children's Book Author

Global Moderator
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region carolinas
Hi, I read everything to steep myself in the period -- fiction, NF, diaries are great if you can get your hands on them. But I also read great historicals to see how an author weaves a seamless story without the *research* showing. I went to a workshop with Patti Lee Gauch on writing HF and I'll never forget what she said -- the details must be part of the story. Basically the plot/history should be inextricably entwined.

So here are some of my favorite authors of HF for children -- Karen Cushman, Richard Peck, and most recently Clare Vanderpool.

Happy reading, studying and writing.
Vijaya
#2 - April 19, 2013, 06:58 AM
BOUND (Bodach Books, 2018)
TEN EASTER EGGS (Scholastic, 2015)
www.vijayabodach.blogspot.com
Author of over 60 books and 60 magazine pieces

Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region inlandnw
Yes, definitely I do. Fiction can really help me with description and mood setting, ect.  :flower
#3 - April 19, 2013, 07:21 AM
A Smidgen of Sky (Harcourt 2012)
A Sliver of Sun (book #2)
 A Million Ways Home (Scholastic 2014)
Just Left of Lucky (2018)
 www.diannawinget.com

I do too! I've also found that a lot of authors will also list nonfiction books they used in their author's note or on their website , so that's a good source for more research too.
#4 - April 19, 2013, 08:43 AM