SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

PB Manuscript Format for Illustrators

Discussion started on

Meg707

I am a professional illustrator and while I've been pretty successful in other areas in the field, my goal all along has been to break into children's books! I have a few solid scripts, with roughs pages and even a few completed pages, but before I go any further I want to make sure I'm not getting ahead of myself and skipping important steps.

I've been combing the web looking over advice and formats for manuscripts, and a lot of it has been really helpful! However, the one thing I can't find anywhere is a clear example of an industry standard (or near enough) PB manuscript containing illustrations. How exactly do you submit illustrations? Not originals of course, but I read somewhere that they should be black and white when submitted? and is there a standard size/proportion for the illustrations that editors like to see (8.5x11,10x10 etc)? I've also read some places that you should submit one complete page spread along with sketches, and others say no no no absolutely not!

It's all very confusing...

I'm also wondering if the nature of my books puts me at an advantage or disadvantage. I'm a very visual person so of course all of my wips have very light scripts (150 - 200 words at most) and rely heavily on bold and colorful visuals. I'm positive that the few words I do have are really good, but will this hurt me in this submission process..?
#1 - April 30, 2013, 06:24 AM

Hi!

I'll be brief as I am almost out the door...

If you work in color then send in color art samples. Send what you need to get all of your characters identified, send different angles and poses of the characters, send what you need to get your place(s) identified, send one or more of action. And send a few that you think are very exciting!!
Visual storytelling is key. As is expression.
Sketches (I believe) are not necessary at this stage but others may disagree.