SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Logo Design

Discussion started on

So, I have been told by friends that my logo is outdated and I should think about updating it.  I've been using it for about 4 years now and don't see any issues. From an artist's point of view, does the attached logo seem kind of outdated?

Also, I have been shopping around for a new logo and the first price quote I got was $1000 for a new logo design and tag line.  Seems kind of expensive, based on what I've read...

Any suggestions?  Should I keep my current logo or go for a new one?

Thanks

#1 - June 04, 2015, 08:49 PM

I draw stuff for chocolates.
Poster Plus
I can't view the attachment. (FWIW - I charge $200-400 for a logo.)
#2 - June 05, 2015, 05:05 AM
patreon.com/wendymartin
Animal Totem Mandala 2016
The Story Circle 2016 (Piñata)
Color and Conjure 2017 (Llewellyn)

Official Shenaniganizer
Emeritus
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region canadawest
Wendy, it should be visible now.

The corded mouse looks slightly outdated to me as so much these days is wireless or touch screen.
#3 - June 05, 2015, 09:04 AM
THIS LITTLE PIGGY (AN OWNER'S MANUAL), Aladdin PIX June 2017 :pigsnort
KUNG POW CHICKEN 1-4, Scholastic 2014 :chicken

http://cyndimarko.com
@cynmarko

Member.
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region carolinas
It does look outdated, in part because of the issue Artemesia mentioned. $1000 is a pretty reasonable price for a logo for a business - this is a graphic that represents your entire company and will get heavy use in your promotions. Something like that has a lot of value.
#4 - June 05, 2015, 09:28 AM

Thanks everyone!  When I was first starting out, I had this logo created by a friend.  I guess it was nice for being free :)