SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Illustrator's Palette

Discussion started on

Poster
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region newjersey
 :help2
Hello,
I have been working on illustrations for a pb book I wrote. I'm self taught and learn from videos, blogs, books and mostly by practice. I also study pb illustrations.

Palette is something I don't see discussed much except sometimes very generally, like"she uses a limited palette."

My illustrations are very colorful. I like them. But I'm not sure if they're amateurish because of a very full palette.
So, professional illustrators, please help me. Is there a set number of colors to use in a pb? Any thoughts to enlighten me will be most appreciated!

Thank you,
Nancy
#1 - September 05, 2015, 02:04 PM
"You get in life what you have the courage to ask for." ~ Oprah

Official Shenaniganizer
Emeritus
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region canadawest
I don't keep to a set number, i use as many colors as the project demands, but I do carefully choose my colors, and will use the same red throughout, same green, etc. I will usually pick two reds, two greens, etc of different hues for depth. For the sake of consistency I no longer mix colors (except for flesh tones) but use straight from the tube. I keep an illustration journal and list what colors I used for each element of illustrations for a project. I use those little round plastic palettes you can get from the dollar store, label each color with a sharpie, and write the project name on the back. I buy new palettes for each project.

I'm self taught as well, so I think it's OK to do what works for you as long as you are consistent.
#2 - September 05, 2015, 03:59 PM
THIS LITTLE PIGGY (AN OWNER'S MANUAL), Aladdin PIX June 2017 :pigsnort
KUNG POW CHICKEN 1-4, Scholastic 2014 :chicken

http://cyndimarko.com
@cynmarko

Poster
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region newjersey
 Thank you! I appreciate your taking the time to answer my question.  :thankyou