SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

How to write PB where art doesn't align (when you're not also the illustrator)

Discussion started on

Hi, all! I'm a newbie, although I've read enough of the archives that I'm starting to get a feel for the place. :)

I am decidedly NOT an author-illustrator, but I had a great idea today for a PB where the illustrations subvert the text a bit-- and that's the joke (to quote The Simpsons).

Not completely contradict it, a la Marla Frazee's "A Couple of Boys Have the Best Week Ever."

More like Olivia (but of course, Ian Falconer is also an A-I).

Is this even sellable, for a "just" author?

If so, would it be best to make a general art note at the beginning, since I think a couple of examples and an "etc." could get the idea across? Or would it not be tiresome to give art notes with each example/line?

Thanks in advance!

#1 - October 15, 2016, 01:15 PM

Children's writer
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region australiaeastnz
My opinion - minimize the art notes, so do your first option. And is it worth it? I don't know, but you can only try. Best of luck with it. (I love this kind of book!)
#2 - October 15, 2016, 02:38 PM
I've Got Eyes! - Amicus Ink

www.juliemurphybooks.com

Thank you, Julie! Much appreciated.
#3 - October 15, 2016, 02:39 PM

Actually, do you think this might be better-accomplished in the cover letter/pitch? Hmmmm...
#4 - October 15, 2016, 02:47 PM

Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region ksmo
Hi Cookie Cat,

Julie's given you some good advice.

If it were me, I'd do as you say and write a short art note at the top of the ms, so the editor is clear as he/she reads that the art and text aren't supposed to align.

Yes, this kind of ms is salable. Go for it! Good luck!
#5 - October 15, 2016, 02:53 PM
PRUDENCE, THE PART-TIME COW, A CHIP OFF THE OLD BLOCK, BUSY BUS series, EMERGENCY KITTENS, and more!
Twitter @jodywrites4kids

Global Moderator
Poster Plus