SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Non-fiction writing sample

Discussion started on

thisbe

I am a newbie, planning to try my hand at writing some non-fiction for children's magazines. My question is about what you should do when a magazine asks that a new contributor include a writing sample (as the Cobblestone magazines do). I have previous writing experience, but it is all academic or for adults (a column in a local parenting magazine, book reviews). I work with children as a librarian, so I'm familiar with children's literature - but of course that is not the same thing!

If any of you could share what worked for you when you were in my shoes, I would be very grateful! Should I write up a sample paragraph or two? Start off by submitting a puzzle or craft so they get to know me first?

Many thanks! This is a great resource.
#1 - September 02, 2007, 08:21 AM

MaudeStephany

Write an article on a topic that interests you, preferably with an upcoming theme (for them) in mind. State, specifically, that it is a sample article that illustrates your writing, and that you had put it together for them with their upcoming theme *whatever* in mind. Include it with your submission package. Mention your published adult credits (that's okay), but don't dwell on them.

One thing I did to get my foot in the door with a couple publishers was show my expertise in a particular topic by suggesting that I could write "on spec" for them on certain topics (this worked for Explore magazine as well as Moo Cow Fan Club) - I know a lot about the Vikings as well as Bug Cuisine - so I pitched several articles with that theme in mind. I included a sample piece relating to the topic... and got hired to write an article for each of those based on my enthusiasm, expertise and I'm certain, a bit of hutzpah. LOL

Good Luck with your submissions.

Maude  :jump
#2 - September 02, 2007, 08:31 AM

Global Moderator
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region carolinas