SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Pockets - Publication Journey, Questions, Answers

Discussion started on

Avvy

I promised another blue boarder I would share my experience on being published with Pockets so others could find out a little more about the process. So if you’ve been published with Pockets, too, feel free to jump in and share. I’m not an expert by any means, but promised to share my journey.

First, I read the guidelines, themes, and all the stories on the website to get a feel for what Pockets was looking for. I took a few notes on “commonalities” as I read the sample stories. Of course these weren't "must haves" but items I saw here and there. Now that we have Donna’s wonderful tidbits of wisdom, we will all be armed with more writing power! Those are gems. Thanks Donna!

Then I drafted my story. When I began revising I looked back to make sure my story had those “commonalities” I wrote down. Those points were:
1.   Current character names (Donna, I was wrong, they used all the names as I had in my submission.)
2.   MC’s “conflict” obvious in the first part of the story (whether they are upset about something, not happy, wanting to do something but fearful, can’t figure out how best to give back to the community, etc…). This “conflict” will be the basis for what the story is about.
3.   I chose to use first person narration, but some stories are third person—about an even split.
4.   Action where the character sees, thinks, struggles with their dilemma. No quick solution, but he/she needs to be torn—Do I do it or not? What if I did this? How would the other person feel? Of course questions will differ based on topic, but something along those lines where the MC is really debating between options.
5.   Realistic dialogue that isn’t too trendy—no “He’s a hottie” or “I’m down with it”—but still very kid centered. Kids don’t preach to each other, so maybe some banter back and forth, but let the MC develop the “ah-ha” moment.