SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Why don't people want middle grade high fantasies?

Discussion started on

Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region newengland
  • SCBWI RA
By people, of course, I mean agents and editors.  As a teacher I know that my students who read at the beginning and middle middle-grade level are dying for high fantasies that follow traditional form.  They beg to read books like Deltora Quest, Eragon, and even Lord of the Rings but the reading level of those books are pretty high.  So why doesn't it seem like agents and editors want to touch a high fantasy that isn't 40,000+ words and difficult to read?  Thoughts?

Stacy
http://lowerfairfieldwriters.blogspot.com
#1 - February 21, 2008, 03:58 PM
Stacy Barnett Mozer
NE-SCBWI Critique Group Coordinator
www.stacymozer.com
http://sportygirlbooks.blogspot.com

Admins and Mods Emeriti
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
I'm not sure it's that they don't want them... I've heard more than one say that they've become inundated with many that aren't very good, or are too derivative, and that has perhaps turned them off. As with rhyming PBs. The good ones still sell.
#2 - February 21, 2008, 05:19 PM
The Farwalker Trilogy
The Humming of Numbers
Reality Leak

www.jonisensel.com

I agree with Joni -- I suppose that the short answer is: "Harry Potter" (and all the flood that resulted shortly thereafter) and the long answer is: "too much of a pretty good thing is still too much" UNLESS it stands out and then the writing will still sell a good story.

As a fantasy writer, I both loved the attention Harry Potter brought to the genre and age category, but suddenly felt nervous when everyone started shouting "Stop!" I have to believe it raised the bar for quality and will affect this subject in a good way overall.
#3 - February 21, 2008, 06:27 PM

JustinDono