SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Last resort publishers

Discussion started on

Cici Brown

Hi there,
I'm a new picture book author, and have submitted my ms package to 5 publishers.  I'm just wait, wait, waiting!
I've decided if I'm rejected by the big guns, I will try to self publish or go to such publishers as:  Trafford Publishing or Publish America.
Do any of you writers know anything about these type of publishers, and the quality of books they produce?  I've been working for over a year on this package (ms, illiustrations, CD).
Thank you for any information you may have.
Cici Brown
#1 - September 03, 2003, 10:11 AM

kateiam

Self publishing is entirely up to you and what you really want from your book.   My brother in law has self published 3 adult novels...and has made a HUGE marketing push, amazon, bn.com local stores etc.  Quite honestly it is his whole life....  he has made some money but the struggle is huge...and he didn't need illustrations since it is not for children.

I don't think self publishing is bad...just a choice you need to really think about as many publisher will not touch your book once you have self published.

I think a year is very quick to give up on a book.  

I wish you luck in your decision.

Kate
#2 - September 03, 2003, 01:09 PM

Admins and Mods Emeriti
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region midatlantic
Cici,

I don't know exactly how you define big guns, but there are many smaller, well-respected publishers that do a great job with picture books.

Off the cuff, I'm thinking Peachtree, Rising Moon, Azro, Boyds Mill, Dawn . . . big-name New York publishers vs. PublishAmerica is not the only choice.

Granted, most writers hope to be published by one of the big six but I'd be careful not to rule out the smaller regional publishers.  

Anne Marie
#3 - September 03, 2003, 02:24 PM
VAMPIRINA IN THE SNOW (Disney-Hyperion, 2018)
BUSY-EYED DAY (Beach Lane Books, 2018)
GROUNDHUG DAY (Disney-Hyperion, 2017)