SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

To dummy or not to dummy?

Discussion started on

PatrickW

Hey.  I am a little confused here.  I am a writer/illustrator.  I have several books that I want to submit and I have read all types of advice.

If I am looking to illustrate the PB I have written, it seems given that I should send in 1 to 3 samples of finished art.  I read on another thread that I should include the dummy. 

I am considering sending my work to several agents.  Some how, I got the idea that making the dummy came after acquiring an agent or publisher.  I have a day job.  If I send in several books at once, won't they get an idea of my illustrating style and ability?

Ugh!

#1 - May 23, 2009, 09:44 PM
« Last Edit: May 23, 2009, 09:47 PM by Wiseguy14 »

Avalon Ink

What does "dummy"  mean in this context? Is that some sort of illustrating for books term?
#2 - May 23, 2009, 10:18 PM

mariannabaer

Wiseguy -- If you don't have any published books to show, I think a dummy is crucial. Although your finished art is an indication of your style, it doesn't demonstrate your ability to carry a narrative throughout an entire picture book. This skill is a different one from being able to pick out a scene and illustrate it. It shows your sense of narrative pacing, your ability to be consistent when illustrating the same characters for an entire book, your ability to create effective page turns, etc.... But the dummy DOES NOT have to have finished art throughout. 2-3 finished examples are plenty.

(Avalon -- a dummy is a rough mock-up of a picture book, with text and illustrations.)
#3 - May 24, 2009, 06:16 AM

Rock of The Westies
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region nevada
Wiseguy, (it feels wierd writing that with good intentions) MRB is right on.