SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Translations or Versions of Foreign Folktales for Magazines

Discussion started on

ChristineIAm

Hi, I am new to the boards and to magazine submissions. I majored in Italian in college and studied, in particular, Italian fairytales and folktales. I have kept up the interest over the past ten years and have quite a few versions of Italian fairy tales. I say versions because they aren't just translations; I've made them more interesting and relevant to modern American readers. Is there a market for such stories in magazines? I have heard that it's really hard to sell translations and I'm just not sure where to start. Has anyone out there had success with this?
#1 - January 21, 2010, 01:08 PM

MaudeStephany

I wouldn't be doing any actual translations of folk tales of a region unless you are writing for a magazine that specifically is looking for that sort of thing. I know, for example, that FACES magazine features different places around the world all the time (a new place in every issue, you would have to check to see what country/region they are doing on their website) and they may be interested in a translation of a folk tale - by which I mean that you stay as much as possible to the authenticity of that particular story in the region that it came from. You will have to document your sources (yes, even in Italian) as these magazines like to know that you haven't just copied and pasted something together from the internet. It's that CYA thing, you know, as their name is on the line if you plagiarized (and yours of course). I'm not saying that you would... just letting you know the drill.