SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Novel with graphics, not a graphic novel

Discussion started on

Stephan

I was wondering. I am a writer, but also an illustrator. I want to create a book, were there are illustrations in the text, but it's not a graphic novel nor a comic. It's like a picture book, but then for YA. Like a normal novel, but with illustrations in the text. Catch my draft? Has it been done before? Also in YA? Have publishers done it? Educate me!
#1 - October 07, 2010, 05:43 AM

Get thee to a library and check out some of the newer MG books like Big Nate, Origami Yoda, Wimpy Kid, etc. and see if that's the sort of thing you mean.  If it is, then yes--it's been done and is quite popular now for that age group--middle schoolers.  "Boy books" seem to be particularly prone, and from what I've seen boy readers do love this sort of thing.  But so do the girls.  My daughter is ten and she loves that half-comic look in a book.

Sadly, the subject matter ("slackers are cool and funny!") often leaves something to be desired for me, but that's a whole other topic.  (Note: I loved Origami Yoda, which had a lot of heart and I can't lump it with Big Nate and Wimpy Kid in that regard.)

Can't speak for YA, but maybe someone will know.
#2 - October 07, 2010, 05:51 AM

Emeritus
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region newengland
Hmm--The Invention of Hugo Cabret?
#3 - October 07, 2010, 05:51 AM
The Leland Sisters series: Courtship and Curses, Bewitching Season, Betraying Season (Holt BYR/Macmillan)
www.marissadoyle.com
www.nineteenteen.com

Happyface by Steven Emond.

Get thee to a great bookstore with an impressive YA section!! Boys do like these books.

My son is a typical hard-to-please teen reader, and he LOVED Hugo Cabret. (As a matter of fact, we all loved it. I thought it was fascinating, actually.)
#4 - October 07, 2010, 05:59 AM
What's for pudding, Mimmy?

Illustration website:

http://www.puddintanesbrain.com