SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Unsure about pricing

Discussion started on

opie

Hi guys- newbie here- not sure if I posted this in the right place, my apologies if it isn't!

I'm an amateur illustrator and was recently commissioned by a relative to do 30 pages of illustrations for a foreign language textbook. They want to pay me the market rate, problem is I've never done this before and have no idea how to charge them. There are roughly anywhere from 4-12 cartoons on each page, and some more detailed full page illustrations depicting a scene in a park, office etc. I'm doing it in greyscale with a sort of watercolour shading effect using Photoshop. What would you guys usually charge for that kind of work? Do you go by per page or per hour? (Of course, I'm an amateur and would be charging less than whatever others usually charge). Finally, I'm doing this as a part time job of sorts (so I usually spend 3 full days per week working on it). How long would a job like that usually take for those doing it fulltime?

Many thanks in advance!
#1 - December 18, 2010, 10:54 AM

Member.
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region rmc
  • SCBWI PAL
Right now the typical rate for projects- range from  1/4 page- $100-250 1/2 page- $250-500 and full page or spread-( 2 pages) $500-1000
you mentioned cartoons- have no idea on that- would be faster- so less-
black and white is also less- small spots in B and W- might do it for $30-50
much less that and your work wont be valued!
you might look through the Artist and Graphic Designers Market- 2011 just came out and many of the publishers quote what they pay- also there is the Graphic Artists Guild pricing book- but usually what they quote is the high end-