SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Questions about Parodies & Retellings

Discussion started on

While I'm working on my funny middle grade & taking notes for a YA thriller, I'd like to begin querying agents with a picture book I've written and am not 100% sure if it would be considered a parody or retelling. My story is basically a modernized version of an old song, but with a twist. I've gotten great feedback on this manuscript and it's time to do something with it. :-)

Before I begin shopping it, I'd like to be informed about the legalities of using original stories/songs to create new ones, as far as copyrights and permissions. If anyone is able to shed some light on this, I'd be grateful.

I know there's lots of great retellings and parodies out there and I'm not sure what the difference between the two is. I'm thinking of the "House That Jack Built," "I Know and Old Lady Who Swallowed a Fly," and "Twas the Night Before Christmas."

I work in a school library and have done a bit of comparison research there and in bookstores, etc. We have some shelved in fiction, and some in nonfiction. (I'm not clear how that decision is made).

Thanks!
Lisa
#1 - December 03, 2011, 12:00 PM
Lois Lowry Bio, Enslow '07
So You Want to Be a Film or TV Actor, '08
Stephenie Meyer Bio, '09
Mercy Lily, Flux 2011
www.lisaalbert.com

I don't think we could answer either question without knowing the song and what you plan to do with it.

I am not a lawyer but you obviously have a lot more leeway with works in the public domain. All of the ones you name are (and I imagine only "A Visit from St. Nicholas" even has a known author).

To me a parody would mock the original and a retelling would be just that -- a retelling. Putting the same story in new words. I guess you could call variations a "retelling," but I would be misled by that word if the story took a different direction.