SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Controversy Surrounding Kids Book Maggie Goes on a Diet

Discussion started on

Sarah C. Pilon
Member.
Poster Plus
This book isn’t going on sale for another 2 months, yet it’s already sparked a world of controversy. After further researching reactions to the book, I've found that many people feel that it “encourages eating disorders” and “promotes self hate”. I do sympathize with the author, Paul Kramer, since his intentions were quite opposite. He wanted the book to help children feel better about them selves and encourage a healthy lifestyle.

My point is, as a writer I can argue both perspectives. I see where the consumer sees flaws, but I also understand the author’s intentions. I find I’m on the fence, especially since I personally haven’t read the book and neither have many (if not the majority) or people critiquing it so harshly.

I’m curious, as people that are familiar with the publishing world, what do you think?
#1 - August 24, 2011, 09:44 PM
« Last Edit: August 29, 2011, 08:05 PM by pilonsc »

Faith, Trust and Pixie Dust
Poster Plus
I haven't read it, obviously, but I've heard it doesn't say much about nutrition. Just the title bothers me, children should never, ever go on a diet. They should be eating healthier if overweight, exercising and with their growth, have their weight even out. I am definitely curious!
#2 - August 24, 2011, 09:52 PM

Danyelle

I haven't read it either, but the cover made me furious.  :mob

What were they thinking, putting a heavy set *girl* on the cover looking in the mirror at a smiling, *thinner*, version of herself? Society is constantly telling girls and women that our bodies aren't good enough. I see this in the media, airbrushed magazine covers, billboards (I actually counted, and after finding about 5-10 of them on one relatively short stretch of the freeway, all but one was aimed specifically at women) advertising for plastic surgery. And, frankly, I'm tired of it.