SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

AGE RANGE FOR PB'S

Discussion started on

Ilanna

Can someone please tell me the age ranges for pictures books? My father passed on the most wonderful story to me last night and I think it would be told best as a PB, but I've never done this type of book before, so it's a new experience for me. Thanks.
#1 - December 24, 2011, 05:28 AM

Member.
Poster Plus
They generally say ages 4-8, but of course under 4s and over 8s also enjoy them. My suggestion (what worked for me) is to read a TON of picture books to see what works.
#2 - December 24, 2011, 06:23 AM
Young Henry and the Dragon (2011, Shenanigan Books)

Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region newjersey
It sometimes depends on the publisher. Some publishers prefer "younger" picture books, more like the 2-6 year-old range. Others go a bit older in the 4-8 range. And they may also publish both.
#3 - February 12, 2012, 02:11 PM
----------------------
Funny Author Lady
Founder, #Storystorm
Co-Chair, RUCCL 1-on-1 Plus
taralazar.com

Admins and Mods Emeriti
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region midatlantic
Many publishers are having their pbs skew younger these days because many parents are trying to get their kids into chapter books earlier. I'd go for 2-6.

FWIW.
#4 - February 12, 2012, 03:28 PM
VAMPIRINA BALLERINA series (Disney-Hyperion)
SUNNY'S TOW TRUCK SAVES THE DAY (Abrams)
GROUNDHUG DAY (Disney-Hyperion, 2017)
among others

Children's Book Editor
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region nymetro