SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Writers/authors casually reviewing books?

Discussion started on

Nathan Bransford has a really interesting post today about writers/authors reviewing books. Basically, he asked whether a writer gives up the right to write a casual or ranting review.
http://blog.nathanbransford.com/2012/02/do-writers-give-up-right-to-be-casual.html

Do any of you write reviews? Do you write negative reviews? If so, how do you handle that?

Tabitha
#1 - February 08, 2012, 08:13 AM

Ann Jacobus

Very interesting post by Nathan. I'm a writer and I do occasional reviews of middle-grade books for www.readerkidz.com and even less frequently on my own blog.

I do only write up books I like, as do the other bloggers at ReaderkidZ.

I'm happy to leave negative reviews to the pros and appreciate thoughtful, analytical pans (but dislike snark).

I also think that once something is published and out there, we have to be willing to take what comes. Kind of like keeping quiet when your ms. is being critiqued in writing group--the written words have to speak for themselves. Although I completely understand how hard it is to stay unemotional when your work is being criticized.
#2 - February 08, 2012, 09:29 AM

Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region sfnortheastbay
There was a thread started on this board by an agent, asking their authors to not review others. Can’t find it right now, but maybe someone more talented will.

This is what I commented on Nathan Bradford's post:

‘Casually [word censored],’ while ubiquitous on the Internet, has no business in my soul. Not good for me. If I were to be ‘[word censored]’ there would be nothing casual about it. The offender better be a serial killer who got off on a technicality.
Also- any review or reply, good and especially bad, draws attention to the product. Why would you want to draw attention and raise interest in something you found to be unworthy?