SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Silly/funny vows you wish you'd said or had your husband/wife say

Discussion started on

Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region britishisles
Okay, so I'm after ideas for a magazine article about the vows no one says when they get married but they kind of wished they had (in a humorous way). So...

I Shall Not Let Our First Pet Sleep Between Us in the Bed

When I Come Home, I Shall Never Greet the Dog Before I Greet You

I Shall Never Leave my Hair in the Sink

I Shall Always Put the Seat Down

Thou Shall Love and Cherish My Body in all its Forms/
I Shall Love and Cherish My Body in all its Forms

For new parents:
I Shall Not Pour the Remaining Expressed Breast Milk Down the Sink

I Shall Continue to Wear Matching Underwear for the Duration of our Marriage

I Shall Not Criticize Your Diaper Changing/Baby Holding/Lullaby Singing

For new homeowners:
I Shall Not Say 'I Can Fix It!' if I am Not a Plumber/Carpenter/Electrician by trade

Any other ideas?

#1 - June 14, 2012, 05:38 PM

Emeritus
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region newengland

For husbands:

I Shall Never Mention that (insert famous celebrity name here) Lost the Baby Weight Within 2 Weeks After a Natural Childbirth During Which She Smiled Non-Stop and Tweeted About Every Glorious Moment.

I Shall Never Say After Your Full Day of Being Home With the Children, "It Must Be Nice To Not Have To Work."

For Wives:

I promise to not apologize for taking an hour or so a day to do something just for me. Even if that means just sipping wine and watching re-runs of Sex and the City.

For Both:

I vow to remember that "I cooked dinner for you!" is always heartfelt, even if it's just frozen pizza.

#2 - June 14, 2012, 06:22 PM

Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
For husbands: