SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Art Critique Request-Character Illustrations

Discussion started on

OddBerryCreations

Hi all. These are some beginning sketches I've done and am working on improving my drawing skills. I love drawing and I love illustrating and I would love to know what you think. I'm trying to figure out what I need to work on and where my strengths are.
#1 - December 03, 2012, 06:00 PM

OddBerryCreations

Few others...
#2 - December 03, 2012, 06:01 PM

Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region britishisles
Hi OddBerry, I'm no pro but you could do with more shading on all of these. They're very flat. Also it looks as though you're struggling to find a style. Rather than trying to draw in a specific style at this stage, you might be better off trying to draw/sketch realistic faces first and then the style will come more naturally.

When I did my art course (non-pro) they asked us to draw eight different shapes (triangle, square, oblong etc) on a page and then make them into different faces with different expressions. I found it a really useful starter exercise.

But drawing from life has been the best improver for me. If I've got no one in front of me I'll use a photo. It's so difficult to render a realistic image or sketch but you learn so much each time you do it.

Hope that helps!
#3 - December 03, 2012, 06:48 PM

OddBerryCreations