SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Possible Portfolio Critique?

Discussion started on

Hi guys!  :yeah

So I have some awesome CPs for my writing but no one to actually help me when it comes to my artwork. I've been slowing trying to put together an illustration portfolio. At the moment it's a sort of hosh podge of old and new drawings and my style has changed. I'd love it if someone could take a look and let me know if I'm on the right track.

Maybe I need more night pictures, more kids pictures, or more animal pictures. Whatever it may be, please do let me know. I studied fine arts but was always drawing cartoons outside of class. I've recently gotten back into it.

http://elizabethprats.weebly.com/illustrations-portfolio.html

:thankyou
#1 - December 17, 2012, 08:59 PM

Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region britishisles
We love fairies in this house - my daughter enjoyed looking at your illustrations! I liked your pen and ink drawings best. But I'm not really in a position to critique and only know that for portfolio purposes it helps to have lots of illustrations of children and animals doing various things, so it might be a good idea to do some animals. But one thing I did notice is that the images look fuzzy? It kind of hurt my eyes after a while. Is it my screen or are they scanned in incorrectly maybe?
#2 - December 18, 2012, 06:15 AM

I draw stuff for chocolates.
Poster Plus
Here's an excellent article http://literaticat.blogspot.com/2010/11/illustrators-portfolio.html

Also get yourself to a life drawing class so you have a firm grasp on anatomy. Draw from life as much as you can. Go to the library and get a pile of recent picture books. Take them home and study them. Take them back when you are done and get another pile. Rinse and repeat.

Join the SCBWI and hook up with other kid's book artists in your area. Many local chapters have crit groups for members.

Also draw from life. A lot. (Yes, I'm repeating myself)