SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Newbie Illustrator (Feeling a bit like an imposter)

Discussion started on

I've been a Blueboarder as a writer for a few years now, but I wanted to say "hey" and introduce myself as a newbie illustrator.  I started writing picture books 4 years ago. I've won some notable awards and even signed with an agent this past fall. It's all been quite an amazing ride so far.  This month I've finally throwing away my fear of being an author/illustrator (Ok, so I'm still really scared of failure, but at least I'm going for it).  Quite honoestly, I just started drawing... My first sketch was just two weeks ago, but I think I may be onto something here. Above all, it feels really good to do and I'm inspired to learn and practice and be my best.

So *clink*... here's to joining the illustrator community here on the Blueboards and I look forward to learning a lot from you all!   :yay

#1 - February 02, 2013, 07:15 PM

Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI RAE
  • SCBWI Region arizona
Welcome, illustrator Jenni. And good for you for pursuing another creative talent.
#2 - February 02, 2013, 08:45 PM
Regional Advisor Emeritus

www.bobimartin.com
Organisms That Glow
Theme Parks
What Are Gems?

Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region wwa
Yay Jenni! Congrats on this! I started in this with art mainly and then switched focus to writing. Hoping someday to get back to my dusty art supplies!  :)
#3 - February 02, 2013, 09:55 PM
FROM WHERE I WATCH YOU/Soho Teen
Twitter @Shannywriter

http://shannongrogan.com

Rock of The Westies
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region nevada