SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Online magazines update

Discussion started on

Global Moderator
Poster Plus
  • **
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region midsouth
As part of the BlueBoards housecleaning in preparation for the merger with SCBWI, I went through the previous “Online Magazines” thread, consolidating information, deleting outdated items, updating links, etc. The useful information is now below.  A huge thanks goes to Talia Haven for all her many, many posts sharing markets with us!!  Thanks also goes to Dani Duck for her updates about a year ago.

Some of Talia’s posts were sharing anthology market opportunities. Those have now been moved to a post in the Agents/Markets section of the board since they didn’t really concern magazines and hopefully more people will see them there. Thanks again, Talia.

If any of you spot mistakes in this list below, please let us know. x = non-paying; $=paying.

Current Online Magazine Markets

13magazine  http://13magazine.wordpress.com/submission-guidelines  x

Alfie Dog Fiction http://alfiedog.com/submissions/submission-process Pays royalties

Anansesem  http://www.anansesem.com  x

Bumples: http://bumples.com/WritersGuidelines.aspx  x

Frostfire  http://albanlake.com/guidelines-frostfire   $

Go!  http://www.go-explore-trans.org  x

Guardian Angel Kids http://www.guardian-angel-kids.com/default.htm  $

Hidden Animals  http://www.hiddenanimalslit.com/submit   x  Accepts YA.  Currently closed to submissions.

Hogglepot  http://hogglepot.com/submissions.php  x

Imagination Cafe http://www.imagination-cafe.com/info/guidelines.asp  x

Into the Willows  http://intothewillows.wordpress.com/submissions  x  Accepts YA

The Kid’s Imagination Train http://www.kidsimaginationtrain.blogspot.com  $

My Light Magazine http://mylightmagazine.com/index.php  Has been on hiatus; plans to relaunch with a new site later this month.  x  (Gives bio and links to your website)

One Teen Story  http://www.oneteenstory.com/index.php?page=submit  $

Pantheon Magazine  http://pantheonmag.com/submissions  $  Accepts YA

Rainbow Rumpus & Rainbow Riot  http://rainbowrumpus.org/about/submissions  $

Read Fiction  http://www.readfiction.co.uk/index.html  $

Science Fantasy Magazine  http://sciencefantasymagazine.com/index.php/submit  x  Accepts YA

Spaceports and Spidersilk  http://samsdotpublishing.com/guidelines.htm  $

Spark  http://sparkanthology.org/submission-guidelines  $ Accepts teen-YA

Spellbound  http://eggplantproductions.com/spellbound-magazine  $

Story Shack  http://thestoryshack.com/submissions   x

Sucker Literary Magazine   http://suckerliterarymagazine.wordpress.com/submission-guidelines $

Suddlenly Lost in Words  http://www.suddenlylostinwords.com/submissions $

Swords & Saga Press  http://www.swordandsagapress.com/Submit.php x

T/OUR Literary Magazine  http://www.tourliterarymagazine.com/get-involved/submissions   x  Accepts YA. Currently closed to submissions.

Underneath the Juniper Tree http://underneaththejunipertreemag.com  x

Unsettling Wonder  http://www.unsettlingwonder.com/submissions  $  Currently closed to submissions.

Visibility Fiction  http://visibilityfiction.com/submissions x

Wily Writers  http://www.wilywriters.com/blog/submission-guidelines  $ Accepts YA

Yarn http://yareview.net/how-to-submit  x

Young Bucks Outdoors  http://www.buckmasters.com/resources/young-bucks-outdoors.aspx  $

Youth Imagination Magazine http://www.youthimagination.org  $



Online Book Publishing and Misc

Babbooks  http://www.sundhagen.com/babbooks/info.html  x

Bedtime Story  http://bedtime-story.com   x

Magic Keys Books  http://www.magickeys.com/books/submissions.html  x
#1 - July 07, 2013, 10:48 AM

Global Moderator
Poster Plus
  • **
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region midsouth
The Following Are No Longer Markets

Berry Blue Haiku  -  http://cobaltcrowproductions.blogspot.com -broken link
Broom Stick Books - http://broomstickbooks.blogspot.ca - closed
COLUMBIAkids - http://columbia.washingtonhistory.org/kids/spring2010/guidelines.aspx
Irish Story Playhouse - http://irishstoryplayhouse.com/IrishStoryPlayhouse/Home.html
His Stories - http://www.hisstories.net/Submissions.html  - broken link
Kids'magination http://kidsmagination.submittable.com/submit  Closed
Kidz Wonder  - http://www.kidzwonder.com - Can not find this site.
Knowonder - http://www.knowonder.com/submit-2  Closed except for chapter bks
Imagine Literary Magazine - http://www.imagineliterarymagazine.com  closed
Moo Cow Fan Club  - http://www.moocowfanclub.com - Magazine no longer in Print.
Mouse Prose - http://www.mouseprose.com -  Link broken.
The Scarald - http://thescareald.com/submit.html  - Link broken
Shiny Mag - http://shinymag.blogspot.ca - No longer published.
Silver Blade - http://silverblade.net/index.html No longer accepts children's submissions.
Stories for Children Magazine http://storiesforchildren.tripod.com/submissions.html - closed
Stories that Lift - http://storiesthatlift.com/index.php/site-specific/submission-guidelines.html Not accepting submissions at this time.
Story Something - http://www.storysomething.com Shut down?
Story Station http://www.viatouch.com/Learn/Storystation/Storystation_guidelines.jsp - Link broken
Welcome to Wherever: http://welcometowherever.wordpress.com/writers-of-wherever/words-from-pictures-an-anthology-of-inspiration/  - broken link

#2 - July 07, 2013, 10:50 AM

Accepts YA and Teens, paying magazine, http://oldtimeyhedgehog.com/submissionguidelines
#3 - July 20, 2013, 10:07 AM
Ten Busy Brownies, Keith Publications Nov, 2013
Mama Cried Amazon.com
A'dab's Gift Amazon.com
The Hanging of Cousin Charlotte Amazon.com

Global Moderator
Poster Plus
  • ***
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region ksmo
Thanks for the update, Ev and Talia! Looks like lots of them have gone away:-(
#4 - July 23, 2013, 05:23 PM
DREAM JOBS IN SPORTS PSYCHOLOGY (Rosen 2018)
THE GROSS SCIENCE OF BAD BREATH AND CAVITIES (Rosen 2019)

http://www.authorjessicashaw.com

Members:

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.