SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Trying to find the storyline for a picture book

Discussion started on

Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region sfsouth
For the past two weeks I have known that I want my next picture book story to be wordless and something about bubbles. However, everytime I try to come up with a storyline I come up with a slightly different idea (changes to # of characters, age of the characters, plotline, theme, tone). Sadly I am not happy with any of my attempts. I have never had this experience before. I know there is a story in there, any tips/exercises on how to find it? For my latest attempt I tried to storyboard it out.

Also anyone know of resources or posts on how to "write" a wordless picture book. I am an author only. I have already reviewed Linda Ashman's site which is helpful.

Thanks,
Darshana
#1 - September 25, 2013, 01:51 PM
How to Wear a Sari (HMH Books/Versify, Spring 2021)
www.darshanakhiani.com - Children's Book Author

A wordless PB is a great creative challenge for a non-illustrator and I think bubbles are a fun idea for this kind of book.

Sounds like it's time for a bubble bath. Or several. Or get outside and blow bubbles. Try some fun playtime with bubbles and see if that helps inspire a natural story. And in regards to "time"—allow yourself breathing and thinking time for this story come to you. You might also work on something completely new and then return to bubbles with a fresh new perspective.

Also, instead of storyboarding, have you tried writing the story first using words? It's easier (for me) to trim away words once I have a firm story on the page.
#2 - September 25, 2013, 03:13 PM
THESE THINGS COUNT! award-winning nature series Albert Whitman
TWIGS (YA)  Merit Press
www.alisonashleyformento.com

Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region sfsouth