SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Butt!

Discussion started on

Hi,

I would like to use "butt" in a funny phrase that recurs a bunch of times in a PB I'm writing.

"Butt" seems to be okay today for all age groups, even 3-5 year-olds. Do you see any problem with using it in a story for young children?

Thanks,
Gatz
#1 - October 18, 2013, 10:59 AM
SurfYourOwnMind.com, children's creativity blog currently in development.

Member.
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region florida
As a writer I want to say it's fine, but as a mom of a 3.5 year old I must admit I don't let my daughter say "butt." I could be the exception though - my parents wouldn't let me say it as a kid (in the 70s). I'd say just be aware that a few parents might steer clear of a PB that highlights that  term.
#2 - October 18, 2013, 11:07 AM
MIND YOUR MONSTERS (Sterling, 2015)
HYPNOSIS HARRY (Sky Pony, 2016)
LUCY LOVES SHERMAN (Sky Pony, 2017)

Member.
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region carolinas
At the SCBWI Carolina's conference a few weeks ago, they did a First Impressions panel where attendees could submit the first 200 words of a story. The panelists then read a random selection of these out loud  to the packed room, and commented on them.

One of the submissions was a PB text that used the word "butt" repeatedly. When the reader reached the end of the text, the ENTIRE ROOM burst into applause. It was the only entry that garnered applause.

Of course, that wasn't *because* of the word "butt". It was a clever and well written manuscript. But it does show that a PB text can get a great reaction even with that word in there. If there's a reason for you to use the word "butt" -- meaning it contributes something to the story other than shock/gross-out value, and the story just wouldn't be the same without it, I'd say go for it.
#3 - October 18, 2013, 12:34 PM

My two cents' worth...It would keep me from buying it for the kiddo.
#4 - October 18, 2013, 01:08 PM