SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

2 questions regarding the attitudes and practices of publishers

Discussion started on

Worldbuilder
Poster Plus
Hello everyone!

I introduced myself on the "introduce yourself" board but I don't see the post, so I wonder if I broke the rules ... I hope not!

Anyway, I have a few questions for those who are wiser and more experienced. I'm writing and illustrating my first MG book, and my current plan is to release it as an eBook and handle all the marketing myself. The main reason for this is because the illustrations are very important to me (I'm a film director by trade, so I think of the reading experience as a whole, not just the writing). Not that MY illustrations are particularly important, just that I have control over the look of the characters and the world. I know it's bad form to include any kind of illustrations with manuscripts unless I'm already a professional illustrator. That's why I went down the eBook road.

However, after spending some time on the internet and looking at various options, I figured I would have nothing to lose by sending the manuscript out to publishers and agents. If they like it and pick it up, fantastic! If not, doesn't matter, because I'm moving forward with doing it all myself anyway.

So I have two questions: