SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Revision Questions

Discussion started on

Hello everyone!

I have a question/request for some input.  I started my WIP about a year ago.  I am new to writing YA fiction, thus along the way I have had a lot of learning and reading to do.  I still have a lot more!  I feel a bit stuck as I have learned more about the craft.  I would love any help/input you have.

A) I would like to start my first revision even though my manuscript is not completely done.  I have around 80,000 words (yikes).  I have thought of things to add depth to my story and I feel I cannot complete my story without going back and adding layers (while taking some out as well).  Is this an unwise idea?  I feel like it is my best option. . .since I feel my story has changed a bit.

B) As I have learned more and read more, I have an urge to change my narrator to first person.  Is this completely crazy?  Or doable? 

C) Can anyone recommend a book on craft that focuses on narrative voice or first person narration?

I would greatly appreciate any input or advice!  Thank you so much!
#1 - December 16, 2013, 02:05 PM

Administrator
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region dakotas
Well, everyone writes a bit differently, so if you feel your story has changed enough that you need to get the earlier bits straightened out before you finish, go for it. There is no "wrong" way to write a book. What's "right" is the process that works for you.

You want to change to first person? Go for it! I would save it as a new file so that you can go back if you find you don't like it so much. But you'll never know until you try, right?