SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

New and don't have a clue

Discussion started on

gita.rosser

Hi

A few days ago I joined SCBWI and went ahead introducing myself.  I am new to the writing world so I do have a few questions as I go about my writing.  I apologize in advance if others have asked these questions before, but I was not able to find all the answers to my questions.  So far everyone has been so nice so I thought I would ask my questions through the message boards.

Can I send my manuscript to a few publishers at the same time?

Is it necessary for my picture book to contain 500 words or is it ok to have less than 500?

How do you prevent someone from stealing your ideas?

Is it necessary to be an excellent writer in order to write a book?  I ask because I feel that I am a good writer, not an excellent one, but I have several great ideas.

Is it ok to write two books at one time, especially if they don?t have any correlation to each other?

Thank you
Gita
#1 - January 10, 2014, 01:31 PM

Admins and Mods Emeriti
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region epa
Hi Gita. Welcome! Here are some versions of answers.

Can I send my manuscript to a few publishers at the same time?

Yes, most publishers (and agents) accept non-exclusive submissions, meaning you can sub to several at a time. Just make sure your manuscript is really, really ready -- you only get one shot per publisher/agent per manuscript.

Is it necessary for my picture book to contain 500 words or is it ok to have less than 500?

Many editors and agents PREFER short picture books -- under 500 words -- as long as everything that needs to be there for the story is there.