SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Picture books vs. board books

Discussion started on

emily.ungar

I apologize in advance if this is a commonly asked question! I am an MG writer but have recently been working on a concept for babies/toddlers. My question is: are all board books either written in-house at various publishers (or adapted from longer picture books)? I understand that picture books are intended for an audience of 2 and above. I am completely in the world of board books right now (I have toddlers), and many have more creative themes beyond the straightforward ABCs, 123s, and colors (i.e. WHO LOVES TO ROCK? by Wednesday Kierwan). Are short concepts such as these (for example, my project is only 70 words) completely undesired by agents and publishers? Because are they considered picture books (I'm assuming not)?

Thanks for filling in the info gaps for this MG and SCBWI newbie beginning to learn about the PB world!
#1 - January 26, 2014, 06:28 PM

Hi, Emily, I don't know a lot about board books, but here is a helpful thread:

https://www.scbwi.org/boards/index.php?topic=61443.msg714129#msg714129

#2 - January 26, 2014, 06:41 PM

Global Moderator
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region carolinas
Well, our own Salina Yoon does both PBs and concept books, but I don't think she got her agent until she was writing PBs. I could be wrong. I hope she will chime in since she writes both. I think if you have a good concept, a publisher would be interested, but I don't know about the agent.
Good luck, Vijaya
#3 - January 26, 2014, 07:12 PM
BOUND (Bodach Books, 2018)
TEN EASTER EGGS (Scholastic, 2015)
www.vijayabodach.blogspot.com
Author of over 60 books and 60 magazine pieces

emily.ungar

Thank you both! And Donna, that thread was super helpful! Bookmarked!
#4 - January 26, 2014, 07:23 PM

Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region sandiego