Folding submissions

Discussion started on

Member.
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region midsouth
There are no dumb questions, right?  :thanx:

I've only subbed via Submittable but am snail mailing my first magazine piece. It's only two pages, and I'm wondering if it's okay to fold my submission & SASE & mail in a regular (long) envelope. I've seen as much "do not fold" advice as I have "it doesn't matter" advice. So, I thought I'd ask here just out of curiosity. What do you guys do?
#1 - March 12, 2014, 12:52 PM

Member.
Poster Plus
I have been published in Highlights and other magazines and I always fold.
#2 - March 12, 2014, 01:01 PM
Young Henry and the Dragon (2011, Shenanigan Books)

Children's Book Editor
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region nymetro
As an editor, I always found it a bit silly when people sent 2 or 3-page manuscripts unfolded in large envelopes. Fold away!
#3 - March 12, 2014, 03:31 PM
Harold Underdown

The Purple Crayon, a children's book editor's site: http://www.underdown.org/
Twitter: http://twitter.com/HUnderdown

For submissions of 2-3 pages, plus a SASE, I send unfolded
in a large envelope, mostly because of the SASE. It just would
seem too bulky, all of that crammed into a regular-sized envelope.
#4 - March 12, 2014, 09:36 PM

Member.
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region midsouth
Thanks for your responses!
#5 - March 13, 2014, 10:54 AM

Global Moderator
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region midsouth
If it's 2-3 pages, I fold and send in a long envelope.