SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Passive structure

Discussion started on

New Poster
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region sfsouth
This question may be very simple, but it is a tough one for me: how do you identify passive sentences, and, once identified, how do you fix them? Finally, how do you avoid them? Thanks! Elizabeth (Lisa) Davidson
#1 - March 16, 2014, 06:05 PM

Reader, reader, reader...
Administrator
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region rmc
Passive sentences usually mean the action is happening to the subject:  The Spanish class was enjoyed by all.

To fix:  Everyone enjoyed the Spanish class.

I think once you're familiar with how they look, they're pretty easy to avoid. (but that might just be me -- I'm also a writing teacher, so I'm used to finding them and helping my students fix them)
#2 - March 16, 2014, 06:16 PM
Robin
Teen Books A Guide for Families (Vol. 1&2): https://www.amazon.com/s?field-keywords=robin+prehn
My Blog: http://robinellen.livejournal.com

Admins and Mods Emeriti
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region midatlantic
There are several threads on this if you search.
#3 - March 16, 2014, 06:21 PM
BUSY-EYED DAY (Beach Lane Books, 2018)
GROUNDHUG DAY (Disney-Hyperion, 2017)
VAMPIRINA AT THE BEACH (Disney-Hyperion, 2017)
among others

Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region houston
Thanks to AM for pointing that out. Saves me from going off on my usual passive voice spiel. It's a hot topic.

#4 - March 16, 2014, 08:01 PM
Making metaphors out of molehills for over thirty years.

Global Moderator
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region socal
Grin.
#5 - March 17, 2014, 08:27 AM

Administrator
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region rmc