SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Computer Graphic vs. Printmaking

Discussion started on

Member.
Poster
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region utahsouthidaho
This question may be obvious to you illustrators, but I'm a writer, so I don't know. My son is a talented artist finishing up studies at university soon. The printmaking department is trying to get him to switch his major from drawing/painting to printmaking. He says many book illustrations are done this way.

Is that true? I assumed most picture book illustrations, in particular, would be done digitally. Would a printmaking degree be any more helpful toward a masters in illustration than his current department?

Thanks for any advice.
#1 - April 16, 2014, 10:26 AM

Official Shenaniganizer
Emeritus
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region canadawest
I don't think it's true that most are done digitally, but it could be as much as half. There are a lot of us still using traditional media. My books are watercolor and ink. I honestly don't know how common printmaking is these days among illustrators, but I can't think of any off the top of my head. But if the illustrations are good and reproduce well I don't think it really matters what the chosen media is. I still box up and ship my paintings to my publisher to be professionally scanned.

Personally, I feel drawing and painting is a very transferable skill, a necessary foundation for any media, be it digital or traditional. Not sure how transferable printmaking is. I'm not very familiar with it. Is it something he can try as an elective?
#2 - April 16, 2014, 01:12 PM
THIS LITTLE PIGGY (AN OWNER'S MANUAL), Aladdin PIX June 2017 :pigsnort
KUNG POW CHICKEN 1-4, Scholastic 2014 :chicken

http://cyndimarko.com
@cynmarko

I draw stuff for chocolates.
Poster Plus