SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Help! What is a line edit?

Discussion started on

Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region oklahoma
Ok, I am new to serious fiction writing. (I've worked for a newspaper for several years, and written for a local city magazine, but that is different.)

I just joined a local critique group, and they are using terminology I'm not familiar with. What is a line edit and at what point does a manuscript get one?   :new:
#1 - May 14, 2014, 06:53 PM

Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region epa
Editing typically goes through a few stages:

Developmental editing - looks at big-picture stuff, such as whether you need the beginning, are the characters driving the story, does the plot rise to a big enough crisis, etc., etc.

Line editing - focuses on sentence-level and word-level edits: whether you're overusing modifiers, relying on crutch words, using cliches or inapt figures of speech, etc.

Copy edits/proofreading - grammar, spelling, punctuation, fact checking

This isn't universally definitive, but it gives you a general idea.
#2 - May 14, 2014, 07:17 PM
Jennifer R. Hubbard
www.jenniferhubbard.com

Loner in the Garret: A Writer's Companion
Until It Hurts to Stop
Try Not to Breathe
The Secret Year

Emeritus
Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI PAL
  • SCBWI Region florida
Welcome! :)

Generally, writers will do global edits, which are overarching issues with character, plot, setting, etc. They are usually given in a letter rather than within the manuscript itself. Line edits are the next level, when writers address the manuscript line-by-line. There still may be bigger issues at play, but they are being looked at on a micro level rather than a macro level.

So a global edit note might be: Character B doesn't feel fully fleshed out.
And a line edit might be: I don't believe Character A would say that. OR I'm having trouble picturing the characters' physicality here.