SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

The eternal question: how much to charge?

Discussion started on

Poster Plus
  • SCBWI Member
  • SCBWI Region britishisles
Hi all, I know this is a classic question and I'm not asking how much YOU charge for an art commission as I feel a bit as though that's like asking how much rent you pay, it'll vary widely depending on your circumstances! But what I would love to know is how you calculate a fee for a commission?

I've been asked to do two different types of commissions, something I've never done before. One is simply a watercolour, from my imagination, for a kids' bedroom. The other, more difficult for me, is to use a photo to create a watercolour based on the people in the photo, for a watercolour painting. Both clients know that I draw/paint in the style on my website and that's what they want.

I am happy to do it and am excited to have the opportunity, but I don't want to start out by charging too little and I also don't want to start out by charging too much either! In my usual writing work I charge per word, which makes things very easy. When I calculate how much I earn per hour with my usual work, though, and translate that over to finishing a watercolour painting the end result gets eye-wateringly expensive! That's also because, unlike more experienced watercolour artists, it probably takes me longer to get a result I love.

I've looked on Etsy and Ebay to see what others charge, but the prices range from $10 up to $400 and quite honestly, with some of them, I can't tell the difference in quality/product!!

So... what I'm asking is, how do you do the calculation? Figure out a minimum per-hour wage that you're willing to work for, then figure out how many hours it'll take, add on materials, and then use that?

Thank you!!!!!!
#1 - July 05, 2014, 06:11 AM

I draw stuff for chocolates.
Poster Plus