SCBWI's Blueboard - A Message & Chat Board

Can an Illustrator Request Changes from the Author?

Discussion started on

Full disclosure: I am brand new to this and know nothing about the PB illustrating process. While this project is hardly the most professional or well-paid book illustration situation imaginable, it's still quite large and I'm terrified, to say the least. lol.

In June, I was referred by a colleague to illustrate a kid's PB for a large local non-profit as a fundraising piece. The manuscript author was the marketing director of the non-profit and my only contact for this job, and had never written a PB before. When I read through his 1400 word script at home, each line either "telling" the reader something (rather than showing) or awkwardly hammering the importance of how you shouldn't be afraid of people who are different (Think "Island of Misfit Toys", but with zoo animals), I was incredibly nervous about taking the gig. Twenty-twenty hindsight makes it clear I should have kindly rejected the offer, but the thunderpuppy in me took over and said, "OF COURSE I'll do it! This will be great experience!"

But now I'm stuck. I can't get emotionally engaged in the manuscript as is. Apparently it has already been edited, and since he already paid me in advance for the job two months ago, there's no turning back now. :gaah

Long story short, since this isn't an intensely corporate or large-scale job, how much leeway do I have as an illustrator to make manuscript suggestions to the author? As an amateur, I just kind of assumed I take what is written and make it work (because it'd already be edited and that's not my job.) However, there are spreads that would clearly be more enjoyable if the author chopped a couple exposition paragraphs and just let the pictures speak for themselves. Would a request to remove such paragraphs be fair recommendations?
#1 - September 08, 2014, 03:04 PM
« Last Edit: September 08, 2014, 03:09 PM by Erin DeGroot »